El Zocalo Burrito

  • Name: El Zocalo Burrito エルソカロブリトー
  • Cuisine: Mexican (burritos)
  • Cost: ¥ (lunch ~¥1,000)
  • Bargain: Good
  • Payment: Cash
  • Size: Small; seats ~15? people
  • Wait: ~30 minutes for order during lunch rush
  • Area: Nishi-ku, Osaka City, Japan
  • Station: Yotsubashi Station, Exit 4

Today, my coworkers took me to El Zocalo Burrito near Shinsaibashi. The best burrito place in Osaka, they claimed. They told me that the couple that owns the place learned how to make burritos in San Francisco. We got there just as they opened at 11:30 to beat the lunch crowd since they’re small and the food takes time to make.
El Zocalo Burrito 003

Even though they’ve just opened, the waitress told us they didn’t have any beef burritos today. I would’ve gotten that if that wasn’t the case. I got the carnitas deluxe B set for ¥1190 (tax included). Set A comes with a drink, while set B comes with a drink and tortilla chips. The regular burrito is filled with choice meat, rice, beans, onions, salsa, cilantro, etc. The deluxe burrito includes cheese, sour cream, and guacamole. They also have a craft beer menu list. El Zocalo Burrito menu

Even though we were the first and only customers, our orders took 30+ minutes. Another customer came but soon left after the waitress told her that her order would take 20 or so minutes to fulfill. Their burritos are quite big. Because of the guac, cream cheese, etc., my burrito was nice and cheesy and creamy and yummy. I could’ve done without the set B since the amount of tortilla chips I got was negligible. The chips also didn’t come with any fresh salsa. So should’ve gotten set A and saved myself an extra ¥200. El Zocalo Burrito 008
El Zocalo Burrito 011

Was it the best burritos in Osaka? I haven’t eaten at enough Mexican places in Osaka/Japan to have more to compare it with. However, it was the best burrito I’ve had in Japan. Their burritos are legit. Up there with the (quality) burritos I’ve had in Los Angeles. Their burritos are a good price if you just get a regular burrito. But once you add the guac and drinks, etc., then it’s relatively pricey for a burrito. However, most Mexican places in Japan cost about the same for a lunch set but taste much worse than these yummy bad boys.

Overall: 3.5/5 Rating
TL;DR: Slightly expensive but quality burritos in Osaka
Recommend: Recommend

Address: 大阪府  大阪市  西区  北堀江1-9-6 ウィングスGIZA 1F-B

2 thoughts on “El Zocalo Burrito

    1. I’ve never had Qdoba and it’s been yeeears since I’ve had Chipotle, so my memory is hazy.

      If I remember vaguely, in Chipotle’s burritos, I could taste and differentiate the various ingredients. At Zocalo, things are more… “mushed” together. The main texture was smooth creaminess from the refried beans and sour cream.

      Like

Leave a Reply

