Ramen Kasumi

  • Name: Ramen Kasumi らーめん香澄
  • Cuisine: Ramen
    • Soup base
      • Niboshi 煮干し
    • Heaviness
      • Thin/light あっさり
    • Noodles
      • Thick, flat, crinkly
  • Cost: ¥ (~¥,1000)
  • Bargain: Good
  • Payment: Cash
  • Size: Tiny; 7 counter seats
  • Wait: People usually finish eating ramen within 15 minutes
  • Area: Nishi-ku, Osaka City, Japan
  • Station: Awaza Station; Hommachi Station

I actually stumbled onto this place because the curry place I wanted to try was closed. And I’m glad that I did. This place is tiny. It has only 7 counter seats.

The four traditional ramen soup bases are tonkotsu, miso, shoyu, or shio. But Kasumi‘s soup base is dried sardines based. While not rare, is uncommon. I think this might’ve been my first time knowingly eating that soup base.

Once I sat down, the light smell of fish reaffirmed that their soup is based on dried sardines. I got a little excited when I saw their very nontraditional table condiments. Because I knew I wasn’t gonna be eating your regular ol’ traditional mediocre ramen. First up was a bottle of chili powder. Chili powder are usually a condiment at soba and udon places, but rarely at ramen places. Next up was a pepper grinder. Some ramen places have pepper shakers, but I’ve never seen a pepper grinder before in a ramen place. Coarsely ground pepper tend to overpower the ramen flavors. Last was a bottle of dried sardine vinegar. Basically a couple of dried sardines soaking in vinegar. I definitely never seen that as a condiment before!
IMG_0723

I ordered their deluxe mixed ramen 特製まぜそば (tokusei mazesoba) for ¥1,000. Mazesoba started getting popular the last few years, I think. Maze (mix) + soba (soba noodles) = mixed noodles. Yes, I know it’s ramen and not soba (buckwheat) noodles. But it’s one old school? way to call noodles, I guess. For example, yakisoba and chuka soba even though they’re ramen noodles. Anyway, mazesoba is a soupless ramen dish. Noodles, toppings, base, mix. Similar to the Chinese/Cantonese “dry mix” 乾撈麵 style of serving noodles. It’s different from tsukemen つけ麺 (dipping noodles) where you, as the name dictates, dip the noodles into a hot broth.

Anyway, their noodles aren’t the typical ramen noodles but thick flat noodles. Kinda like a rounder linguine. There were hints of sardines now and then from the sauce/soup, but wasn’t fishy at all. It was flavorful. I can’t put my finger on the flavor/taste. It was just… yummy… umami/savory. The toppings included runny eggs with nice red yolks, cut and julienned scallions, menma, and thick slices of “chashu“. I don’t think they’re technically chashu. They’re closer to roast beef  or ham in appearance and taste. Parts of it were still rare/pink and there was a light black pepper rub on the crust. While eating, I saw one of the cooks drop a bunch of cut up apples into the broth. That was interesting. I assume that’s to make it sweet or something. I never would imagine apples in a ramen broth.
Ramen Kasumi 009

Overall, it was really good. Not your typical ramen. When I went there again, I brought a couple of friends with me. I had the mazesoba again. One of my friends tried the regular ramen. Unfortunately, he didn’t like it. “Too fishy,” he said. But then again, he doesn’t like the smell of fish.
Ramen Kasumi 007

While I haven’t tried their ramen, I highly recommend their mazesoba.
Ramen Kasumi 002 Ramen Kasumi 011
Ramen Kasumi 013 Ramen Kasumi 012

Overall: betsubara-3-5-star-35px
Recommend: (Highly) Recommend

Website: http://ramen-kasumi.sblo.jp/
Address:
大阪府  大阪市  西区  京町堀2-12-13

Leave a Reply

