Saboten

  • Name: Saboten 覇王樹
  • Cuisine: Mexican
  • Cost: ¥¥ (¥1,000-¥3,000)
  • Bargain: Pricey
  • Payment: Cash, Credit Card
  • Size: Big and spaceous; seats 50 people
  • Area: Nishi-ku, Osaka City, Japan
  • Station: Yotsubashi Station, Nishi-Ohashi Station

A few of my friends invited me to try out this Mexican restaurant, Saboten, near Yotsubashi Station.

The place is huge. Seats 50. And spacious too. It has a bar too. Rent must be killer.

We decided to start off with some drinks and then share a couple of appetizers. I ordered guava juice (¥420) while the others got beer. The guys decided to order the plato variado 5 (¥850) and quesadilla pastor (¥830).

The plato variado 5 came with, what else, 5 samplers. Some chips, carnitas in a chipotle? mole? sauce, refried beans, spicy octopus, mashed potatoes with ham, and a couple of olives. The portions were really small but each sampler was really good. The carnitas were tender. I don’t usually like refried beans but this was good. It had something added to it to give it this nice umami flavor. The mashed potatoes weren’t your regular mashed potatoes too. I think it had some fried? ham in it. Our favorite was the spicy octopus. It was nice. None of us expected that taste. The octopus had this light and refreshing spicy … jalapeno? dressing drizzled over it. It was difficult for me to pinpoint out the various flavors since there wasn’t enough to go around for one person, let alone split between four guys.
Saboten 04 (Plato Variado 5)

The quesadilla was also good. The tortilla was slightly crispy from being pan-fried. The sour cream made everything taste much better.
Saboten 09 (Quesadilla Pastor)

For dinner, most of us decided that we’d try their tacos de arrachera (¥750). According to the menu, it was ハラミ, that is, skirt/hanger steak. Since we were all getting tacos, the waiter suggested that we get the orden de pastor for ¥1350 and share. The dish comes with 8 tortillas. So we took his advice. The orden de pastor came with pork, cilantro, onions, and pickled onions. There was also some kind of buttered cream sauce. I don’t know what it was. Definitely not sour cream. Again, the portions were really small. We had to use the toppings sparingly just so there’s another for all the tacos. Taste-wise, it was good/decent. But not enough. I would’ve and could’ve eaten the whole platter just by myself. Saboten 15 (Orden de Pastor)
Saboten 17 (Orden de Pastor)

While we got the tacos, one friend got a (wet) burrito (¥750). Once he took his first bite, he exclaimed, “Oh shit. I gotta stop. This is so good. Gotta pace myself.” Aaand.. he inhaled it all seconds later. While most of us weren’t full from our tacos, he was satisfied with his burrito. That made us all wanna try it even more. Saboten 10 (Burrito)

Over all, the food was quite good. But I wasn’t satisfied, i.e. for the price I paid, I should be stuffed but I wasn’t. The food is good enough for me to come back but it’s the price that keeps me away. If I do come back, it’s only to try the burrito. One day, I’ll find an “affordable” Mexican place in Japan.

Overall: 3.5/5 Rating
TL;DR: Small portions and pricey but delicious Mexican food.
Recommend: Recommend-ish (If you don’t care about the price, then it’s a solid recommend)

Address: 大阪府 大阪市西区 北堀江 1-16-25 YSSビル 1F

Leave a Reply

