Sing Lum Khui Noodles

  • Name: Sing Lum Khui Noodles 星林居雲南米線餐廳
  • Cuisine: Yunnan rice noodles
    • Soup base
      • Sour and spicy
    • Heaviness
      • Light
    • Medium-thin round rice noodles
  • Cost: $ (~HK$60)
  • Bargain: Yes!!
  • Payment: Cash
  • Size: Medium (squeezed together)
  • Station: Tsim Sha Tsui
  • Area: Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong

HK Trip '16 Day 2 0218 (Sing Lum Khui Noodle - storefront)

My friend took me here several years ago, and I’ve been craving this ever since! It’s one of the things I look forward to the most when I go back to Hong Kong. It’s the Yunnan spicy rice noodle soup at Sing Lum Khui. What’s amazing about this place is how much you can customize your bowl. They have 39 toppings choices. You can choose your spiciness level. You can choose your sourness level.

I remember the first time I ate here, the table next to me had to order a bottle of water so that they could dilute the soup because it was too spicy.

My order this time:

  • HK$25 (~¥344) for the default bowl.
  • Spicy mined pork HK$7 (~¥97)
  • Pork spareribs HK$12 (~¥165)
  • Fried fish cake HK$6 (~¥83)
  • C3 Little Spicy (they said I should lower the spice level because the spicy minced pork will make it more spicy)
  • Extra coriander
  • Extra green onion

HK Trip '16 Day 2 0211 (Sing Lum Khui Noodle - my order)
A fully loaded bowl of noodles for only HK$50 (~¥690)! So cheap! God, I wish I can teleport over and eat this now and then.

HK Trip '16 Day 2 0213 (Sing Lum Khui Noodle)

I was really excited when my bowl came! However, when I ate it, I was slightly disappointed. I remembered it being better. It’s not as spicy as I would’ve preferred it. I should’ve ordered spicier. Maybe should’ve gotten C5 Medium Spicy instead. Definitely, not C7. I remembering ordering C7 the first time I ate there but my friend suggested that I lower it down to C6 or C5 instead. And that was still very spicy! This time, the rice noodles were kinda soft. Anyway, the soup was sour and spicy. I had more toppings than noodles. Maybe I should’ve ordered extra noodles too to even out the extra toppings I got. The spareribs weren’t melt-in-your-mouth tender as I thought they’d be. Still gotta chew on the cartilage.
HK Trip '16 Day 2 0215 (Sing Lum Khui Noodle)
HK Trip '16 Day 2 0216 (Sing Lum Khui Noodle)

They weren’t bad. I just remembered being being amazing! But then again, the memory and yearning of eating these noodles have been incubating in my mind for years. So I wouldn’t be surprise that reality couldn’t match the ideal in my head.

Sharing the table with me was a Korean tourist. She was referring to a Korean blog on what to order, etc. I’m surprised that this place is famous in Korea too!

I highly recommend you try this place. It’s not as great as I remembered it (雲南小鍋米線 tastes better), and it’s cramped and has poor service. But it’s a unique experience. To have so many options to customize your own bowl of noodles. They’re also very spicy (if you chose the appropriate level). Their order slip is in English, and they’re near the station, so it’s very tourist “friendly.”

Also, especially since I took a picture of the order slip, you can take your time and plan out your bowl before getting to the restaurant. Otherwise, they’ll be rushing you to order ASAP. As standard for HK.
Sing Lum Khui Noodle order slip

Overall: 4/5 Rating
TL;DR: Spicy-sour Yunnan noodles with 30+ topping options!
Recommend: Highly Recommend

Website: N/A
Address:
尖沙咀樂道23號地下A舖, Kowloon, Hong Kong

Leave a Reply

